Gifts for me and gifts for her

January 28, 2007 at 3:25 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - How-to's, Craft - Misc, Craft - People, Craft - Websites | 2 Comments

When I was still trying to get out of my dream on Friday morning, the DHL-man came, rang my door-bell and handed me a package: a package from Japan! ping sent me WAWA#46, her friend Mr “small” and a nice nice craft book.😀 I was in such a good mood for the whole weekend even though I still need to fight with grammars and programs.

Being taller than Jo, WAWA appears to be the giant in the kingdom of my toy shelf. She can amazingly stand by herself without any external supports. Except the pink silk ears, most parts of this WAWA are from Kimono fabics. ping had done a great job matching the strips of each pieces so as to make the shapes fancier. I tried to knot her ears together. Unfortunately, her ears are not as long as they look like.😛

Believe it or not, my favorite among ping’s works is always the series of Mr “Small”, which ping calls “little thing(小东西)”. Seeing this little creature brings me a bunch of joyful imagination.

I didn’t manage to take pictures of the package yesterday because I was working really hard to get the birthday gift done before Katya’s party. It was already dark before I can finish it. I can only take a few pictures after ironing. The pictures are a little ugly.😦

The gift is made up of two parts: crocheted bookmars and a little pouch to hold the bookmarks. Katya claimed in the Xmas party that she loves books so that she went for the book giftcard in the gift exchange. Since I am not the only one there, I believed she was going to get some books as gifts. Therefore, it should be nice to have some bookmarks at the same time. She did get some books last night.🙂 Actually, crocheted bookmarks are less time-consuming than the other gift ideas in my mind at the moment.

Katya also told me after the Xmas party she would go for the bear if she knew about the bear before the party. It would be no fun if I make the bear again. In addition, I also want to made something that can be used. Finally, I decided to use the same yarns for a pouch to hold the bookmarks and also to potentially hold something else.

I also tried something new. It’s like using crochet stitches to imitate knitting. It’s only slightly different from double crochets (dc). According to about.com, it’s front post stitch. It seems there are still a lot of crochet techniques for me to explore.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] The conversation about the crafts has gone wild. I think the girls quite enjoyed my stuffs. Shirley’s earings got attached to different dolls. However, no one is left out! After seeing some of my amigurumis, Mars brought up a question: what’s the difference between knitting and crochetting.  I answered this question by showing him the amigurumi capsule cat and the big mouth man and telling him the latter is knited.  Then, someone started to worry about the size of the TRAINING DATA, so I showed him the pink cat as a TEST and he got it right. That’s when many people asked about OUT-OF-DOMAIN data and I need to dig out my blanket, which has totally different uses and is in totally different size. He can still figure it out. Hence, I supposed the small training set was sufficient for such a good LEARNER. The truth is I’ve got much more crocheted things at my place, so it’s safe to always go for crocheting. It might be a challenge for Mars if I still have the pouch I made for Katya. […]

  2. […] book シマシマの本 ― ボーダー布を使って gnip sent me quite a while ago. The book came with a WAWA. It’s about using striped fabrics, all kinds of them. I never told gnip how much […]


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

