Xmas party countdown

December 14, 2006 at 4:17 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - Blogs, Craft - How-to's, Craft - People, Craft - Websites | 2 Comments

Hubby finally agrees to come with me to the Xmas party at “Noam’s cabin”, thus this new little bear is officially the present I will bring for the gift exchange now. I just finished assembling him this morning.

Instead of an amigurumi, I would rather call him a thready teddy since it’s not in a typical Japanese style of crocheted creature. In fact, I adapt parts of a pattern, mainly the head and legs, in Teddy Bears and Friends (Feb 2004) by Berta Hesen-Minten from ThReAdTeDs. Her patterns work in such a different way compared to Japanese ones. The most obvious difference is the bear head in this pattern is made in one piece. Usually, bear noses are crocheted seperatedly or cut from felt, and then stitched onto the face. Besides, Japanese amigurumis’ heads are usually worked from top to bottom or vice versa. The one I just made was from the front (nose) to the back.

Another difference is that my bear have not only legs but also big feet! I felt like making a pair of little boots when crocheting the legs. It’s such a funny way to achieve the shapes. Berta Hesen-Minten uses increasing stitches, decreasing stitches as well as slip stitches, for example the round between the nose and the face. Slip stiches are relatively rare in Japanese patterns. Although I was not able to follow the whole pattern, I tried out nevertheless all the special approaches I never knew before.

The parts turned out to be very traditional in terms of teddy bears. It’s even possible to install plastic joints, which I don’t have and I am also too lazy to make.😛 In other words, everything after crocheting the parts is exactly the same as making a sewn bear, e.g. stuffing, joining, stitching nose and mouth and putting on ears and eyes. As many other bears, he can stand by himself in certain positions.🙂

My favorite part of this bear is his little brushy tail. My roommate in undergrad used to say a teddy bear without a nice tail is not a real teddy. I quite agree with her of this point. I always forgot the tails to avoid more work when making bears, but not any more! I used the yarn cut from the parts to make a mini pompom for the tail. The pompom is smaller than 1cm^3 thanks to Tatalina’s nice tutorial, which uses fork to make pompoms.

hmm….I hope someone in the party would like him and take him home happily.🙂

BTW: One of the reasons using this yarn is Melanie’s amineko. Another reason is ….it’s left-over from my blanket project.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha, the tail is really nice. Great bear~~//kiss

  2. And I’m really glad you came to the party! Katya really liked the bear, thought it was so cute, but I don’t actually know who ended up with it in the end..


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

