The tatted butterfly

October 12, 2007 at 11:05 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - People | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

No doubt one simple project is not enough to really master the skills of needle tatting. This time, I made a butterfly with my doll needle.

The pattern is called Pretty Pink, available from an MSN group. There are many more beautiful patterns there. It took me around 1.5 hours to finish the butterfly, but I dunno what to do with it. It can be a bookmark, I guess.

Butterflies are very popular in lace designs. I’ve seen butterflies made with various techniques, such as crochet, knitting, bobbin lace, needle lace, e.t.c. I have also crocheted several butterflies before. When Mr. Y saw my tatted butterfly, he asked “what is so different with this butterfly?” as he thought it’s just another crochet butterfly. 😛 Ashley has finished a butterfly bookmark recently, which is very delicate. I am not sure if the butterfly is from the same one I have in my collection of butterfly crochet patterns. It looks similar to me. 😛

Back to the tatting topic. I cannot think of a project I want to do next. There are many exquisite patterns all around, however most of them are a little boring to me. I would prefer some interesting items to the huge regular doilies. A friend suggested me to design by myself, but it is still a question what I should design. It would take me quite a long time to get to a conclusion. 🙂

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i want to learn tatting with crochet needle but never found any web regarding this….plz help me out…….

  2. This is pretty! I have a link to this blog post so that I can tat this butterfly sometime. It’s under my “Tatting Patterns I’m Gonna Tat” and it has the same title as your blog post. I guess the MSN tatting group is no longer available online.

    Come on over to my tatting blog anytime! 🙂

    • Thank you very much for your link! I didn’t notice that the tatting group was gone. It’s been 1.5 years since my tatting fever. You have made quite some beautiful pieces on your blog. Seeing them, I am considering to pick up my needle again. 😛

  3. Make another and you have earrings. Make one in a bigger thread and you have a pendant. stitch it to a hair clip or head band. Put it on a purse. attach it to the strap of a cell phone or camera.

  4. I love the butterfly with a flower in hte center. I have looked all over for it. Is there a chance you have it? I would really like to make it for a few little girls I know.
    Thanks

  5. I typed the url listed for the old MSN group… into the Wayback internet archive, and it took me to the original page!!!
    Just thought someone would like to know.
    MrsJohn


Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 743,633 hits
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.