Matryoshka Attack

January 5, 2008 at 10:53 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - Inspirations, Craft - Websites | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Since junior high, I always like to get a “Kinder Surprise” as a small award for myself. I am never tired of discovering what’s inside and assembling the toy without looking at the guides. I don’t really like the chocolate outside and the toys usually go into my nephew’s pocket eventually. The plastic shells are all left. Such a shell appears in my sketch book rather frequently, but I never carried out any of them. One of the reason is that the paints I have cannot stay well on the surface. The solution is found when I was taking a shower. 😀 The implementation of one of the old sketch was relatively simple.

The solution is stickers. I don’t have any stickers of the suitable size, therefore I made my own stickers with a bumper sticker from the advertise package distributed in school. It’s very easy to made. First, draw on a piece of normal white paper. Then, the shapes are cut out and put between the transparent sticker and the liner. Press the sticker back to the liner and cut around the shape with 2-3mm allowance, then you will have your own stickers. I also put one on my laptop. 😀

Unazukin, which always has the warm smile I like, is the inspiration for this shell. The shape of the shell is just perfect for that. Meanwhile, I found many Matryoshka-related creations over flickr lately. What a coincidence!


1. Babushka card, 2. Matrioska, 3. new stamps, 4. Eskimo Fambee, 5. matryoshkas munieca, 6. NOVO KIT COM 4 IMÃS DAS CLEPTOMANÍACAS DE CORAÇÕES!, 7. Blossom art doll, 8. Babushka rubber stamps, 9. Babushka Pencil Toppers

Well, my project is certainly not only a Matryoshka doll but also something useful: a pincushion. It is no bigger than the other key ring dolls, very handy for people who love sewing/embroidery on the road. The shell can hold a thimble inside. It is also possible to keep a few scrap threads. The shell is closed tightly when the pincushion is not in use. There is no need to worry about the needles to be lost or to be exposed. It was always the main concern from the people traveling with me when they saw me doing embroidery. 😛

This project consumed all my crafting energy I saved in year 2007. It might not be so extraordinary for the others, but, for me, personally, it is like an explosion of creativity and passion, which basically left me with nothing. I am possibly going into crafting hibernation very soon. I can almost hear myself snoring. 😀

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think this is a great idea! Now I have another reason to buy Kinder eggs (and I agree the chocolate is not very good lol)

  2. LOVE IT !!! absolutely adorable!! good for you

  3. lOVE EVERYTHING!

  4. So cute…

  5. […] Et puis la semaine dernière, dans un article de Fées Maison, j’ai découvert un lien vers Matryochka Attack chez Crafty Beats.                        […]

  6. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in fact used to be a amusement account it. Glance complicated to far delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  7. […] Fuente: CraftyBeats […]

  8. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing
    very good results. If you know of any please
    share. Appreciate it!

  9. I think the admin of this site is truly working hard in favor of his web page,
    because here every data is quality based data.


Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 743,688 hits
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.