To Tat or To Crochet?

January 10, 2008 at 4:41 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - How-to's, Craft - Websites | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was sort of surprised to find out the fancy Cluny leaves can also be achieved by tatting, so I pick up my doll needle to make a try. There is a very good tutorial on tatting the Cluny leaves with needles. Obviously, this is a technique I cannot master so easily. I repeated the angle pattern 3 times to get the two wings (more or less) symmetric. I am still hesitated to claim that I know how to do the leaf: more practice is definitely necessary before trying more serious patterns.

I must be stressed when learning the technique. It was a little depressing that the angel (the first one) I made before going to bed was so ugly. The ugly leaves also appeared in my dream last night! And, I simply gave up trying in the dream. I sniffed at the leaves and thought I can make the angle in some other ways, like crocheting. When I woke up, that’s the only thing remaining in my brain: why cannot I try to crochet the angel?

So, I tried and finished this larger angel with my hook. Well, it’s only larger than the tatted one. The crochet version doesn’t look as delicate as the original, but I dunno how to improve it. Please, I need your comments. 🙂

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Personally I like both angels, the tatted angel does look more delicate when sitting next to the crocheted one. But I still like the crocheted angel it is different from other crocheted angels I have seen. I wouldn’t get too stressed if I were you I think both are lovely.

  2. I think Crochet is way faster..


Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 743,658 hits
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.