Turn the clock back

September 10, 2009 at 11:32 am | Posted in Craft - How-to's, Craft - People, Craft - Websites | 1 Comment

I had plan to start more projects and finish them all but there’s no way to predict someone’s sickness. Hopefully, Mr Y will be fully recovered soon. What I can show you is what I had a month ago: quite a few modular origami pieces. I have posted the tutorial for the piece above last time and here comes more:

The jitterbug unit designed by Tung Kem Lam is probably my favorite among these models. Although the original website is not longer available, there are several video tutorials on youtube. It’s very important to know that the 20 units are not all exactly the same. Some tutorials did not point this out. It took me a while to understand the model thoroughly.

One of the latest designs from famous Tomoko Fuse(布施 知子), the modular origami master in Japan, this model can be found in issue 115 of the Origami Tantaidan Magazine (折紙探偵団) published by Japan Origami Academic Society.  This ball only contains 12 units, much less than the others I have tried, but it is definitely the most time consuming one. The module assembling is a little tricky from my point of view. I didn’t follow the instruction carefully enough at first to leave one corner unfolded at the last step. As a result, the assembling is almost a nightmare. Luckily, I always try to put a few units together before going on. After fixing the first 3 units, everything become much easier. In a word, there must be a reason for the master to design in a certain way.😀

This green ball is made of the well-known PHiZZ units, only 30 of them. The unit itself is a little boring even though the pieces with hundreds of them are quite beautiful. I am just not ready to make more than 30 pieces.😛

I like the white ball a lot. It is somehow too fragile to be thew like a ball. The module was designed by Bennett Arnstein and Rona Gurkewitz and published in the book 3D Geometric Origami. It starts with a triangle rather than a square. I had a great time preparing these triangles. I cannot deny that I prefer equilateral triangle to any other shapes.😛 There’s also a clear tutorial on Youtube.

BTW, the black background seems to work the best for this type of photographs.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. but it depends on the color of the paper used… if it’s black…😛


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

