Vacation entertainment

June 26, 2009 at 3:03 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - Books, Craft - How-to's, Craft - People | 3 Comments

When people asked me about my vacation, my response was always something like “it’s fantastic”. The next question would be where I had been. Actually, there is no sightseeing involved. I stayed with my sister’s family for 1.5 weeks. The adults worked and the kids went to school everyday as usual and I got a precious chance to relax. By “relax”, I mean no housework, food on request, sleep whenever I want, unlimited internet and smart kids to play with. 😀 Yup, I need to fight with my nephew several times for my own laptop. I cannot think of any vacation better than this.

My nephew showed doubt when he saw the picture of the origami rat I folded before. The best proof is to make him a rat. Although it was not very easy to come up with a piece of square paper in a crafting-free environment, I still managed to fold the rat again and convinced my nephew as well as my niece. 5 minutes after I showed them the rat, they started to fight because of it. The only solution was to promise more origami animals. Thanks to jet-lags, I got extra long mornings to fold more models before the kids came home in the following days. They can keep whatever they like and don’t need to fight any more. The models usually disappeared very soon after the kids came home. I was too lazy to find out who got what so I have no pictures of the finished models.

The models are mostly from Robert Lang’s Origami Zoo. If you are bored of simple origami models but not sure about those advanced ones or you just want to amaze some kids, this book is definitely a good one to start. I failed quite a few times on complex diagrams like those from Origami Tanteidan(magazines from a Japanese origami society) but I found no difficulty at all to follow the instructions in this book.

BTW: the picture on the top right has nothing to do with my vacation. I folded it last month before I left for my vacation. I had no idea what it was before I made it. The reason I made it is the color of phone-book pages should work for the model called “yellow bird”. Mr. Y recognized the bird very quickly, so he gave me a long lecture on Final Fantasy and played the old game for a few days. So the bird is “Chocobo” from Final Fantasy. The model is from the book “Works of Satoshi Kamiya 1995-2003” by Satoshi Kamiya (神谷哲史 ). There’s a crease pattern available from his website. Google can already lead us to the diagram and a set of videos on youtube.🙂

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 我想起来了,中文叫“陆行鸟”。

  2. I like the rat. Maybe, it will inspire me and my son to progress beyond the water bomb.

  3. i like bug… thanks for sharing..


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

