Jumper that cannot jump

May 1, 2008 at 9:29 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts, All My Sketches, Craft - Books | 4 Comments
Tags:

I actually finished this jumper I have been working on train last week but I felt reluctant to show it because it does NOT fit! The pattern was from a Japanese pattern book ヨーロッパの手あみ (Spring/Summer 2008) that was just released this February. I really wanted to try this jumper pattern as it is a mixture of knitting and crochet.  Japanese pattern book sometimes only provide patterns for one-size, which is usually very slim. Therefore, I tried to calculate the number of stitches to fit the pattern to myself. Obviously I overestimated my own size.

The jumper turns out to be way too large. It’s over 10 cm on either side more than it should be. This 10+cm corresponds approximately 10~14 knitting stitches on each piece (front/back). Tracing back to the beginning of the project, the problem could have been the result of my cast on. I did my calculation on a gauge starting with a cast-on row which may be too tight. I am a little disappointed of myself. Now, the jumper stays in a corner. I need to unravel it sooner or later.

Despite the failure, I still look forward to something from the pattern. Maybe it could be a doll. I did a sketch on the train this Monday. As Chubby stays in Shanghai, I urgently need a new companion for the coming trip. On the other hand, I don’t think I have time to carry it out.😦

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How disappointing! This happens to me a lot. That is why now, I just knit socks. The doll looks so cute.

  2. […] Yeah, I remade my jumper. It fits me now and I wore it once to office. I am happy that I didn’t give up, however, I […]

  3. […] Yeah, I remade my jumper. It fits me now and I wore it once to office. I am happy that I didn’t give up, however, I […]

  4. […] last month. The Beaufort hat was my favorite. I happend to have one left-over skein from the jumper project last year so I simply used it even though I don’t like the color so much. In fact, the color […]


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

