Tatting #1

October 2, 2007 at 8:14 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - How-to's, Craft - Websites | Leave a comment
Tags:

This is a little challenge for myself during the last weekend.

Honestly, tatting is never a temptation for me. Neither does bobbin lace. It seems to me that both shuttle tatting and bobbin lace rely significantly on the tools, however I never want to get some bobbins or tatting shuttles.😛 Therefore, I always ignore the books for these two types of lace making. Speaking of needle tatting, there are several variants of needle tatting. I used to see a book about Takashima tatting printed in Chinese. The specially designed needles stopped me from reading it.

Sadly, I always do some unusual thing when I am not happy, more precisely depressed. The worst thing is I do really know what I was depressed. After a few hours of idling, I decided to learn needle tatting by myself. Although all I had got were a yarn needle (which is too short and uneven for needle tatting), a ball of crochet thread (which is somewhat too thick) and a nice tutorial website, I still manage to finish my first project, a boring medallion. It’s not as complicated as I expected. There are only two types of stitches: double stitch and picot. Meanwhile, it’s much more time consuming than crocheting a pattern in the same size. It is a little tricky to make picot in the same size. Anyway, I felt much better when I finished the piece. It’s always good to learn something new. I will try to find more suitable needles and threads next time.🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

