Time waits for no one

September 3, 2007 at 9:48 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts, All My Sketches, Misc. | 1 Comment

The animated movie The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (a.k.a. Toki wo kakeru shôjo) is possibly my favorite movie of this year. Although it was released last year, I only watched it a few days after I read some recommendation of this movie together with the classical ones by Studio Ghibili. The movie is unexpectedly good, especially after I’ve been disappointed by Ghibili’s Tales from Earthsea. The main story is not so special: a girl with power to go back in time, but the way of the girl handling her power is different and hilarious but also very reasonable. It may also be the idea behind the story. The ending is too sad, but still what else can you expect when you saw the song title “time waits for no one” so many times? The movie also reminds me a few episodes of Felicity, which guided me through the miserable days.

It always takes a while to recover from sad stories. With too many thoughts in mind, people became more creative, which is at least true for me. It was the night after I watched the movie that I was staring at my laptop and suddenly wanted to drew a little girl listening to maybe the wind, or something else mysterious. I was going to give her a pair of sandals, but I couldn’t get the right foot right, so I erase both feet and leave it blank. This picture is quite different from my usual style. I guess this picture is also considerably influenced by Kurt Halsey. I’ve been wanting to imitate his style for a long time.

In addition to the drawing, I also finished a little paper-craft Guan-yin designed by Answer Ideas Studio via PaperKraft. The highlight of this model is that it does not require gluing at all. You only need a scissor and a few minutes to make it.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hi,
    can you reupload the guan yin papercraft again?
    it has been deleted.
    thx.


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

