Curious cat

August 30, 2007 at 10:15 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts | Leave a comment

“Curiosity can do more things than kill a cat; and if emotions, well recognized as feminine, are inimical to feline life, then jealousy would soon leave the whole world catless.”

O. Henry, Schools and Schools

To be honest, the cat does not look like what I wanted at all. My original thought was much similar to the one I doodled a while ago. I followed my plan pretty well until I finished crocheting all the parts. The ears are the last and they turned out to be a little too big for the head. The ears are not only over-sized but also positioned unsymmetrically: the left one is a little lower. Instead of redo the ears, which I hate, I skew the eyes too so that the cat look even more different from the plan. It seems to be extremely curious about what is going on around it, which reminds me of the famous proverb “curiosity killed the cat“.

I am really not so satisfied with the cat. The ears make it like a Chihuahua somehow. Therefore, I was quite surprised that Hubby knew immediately it was a cat when he saw it. He said “why are you making that cat again?” and then pointed to the purple cat on the shelf….huh? That’s what I didn’t expect. Maybe, I said “maybe“, it would be like Jiji (the black cat in Kiki’s delivery) if I used black yarn and made a longer body.

I have to revise the pattern later. The body and the tail are OK. I actually like the bending tail very much.😀 The ears should be smaller and I want to change the shape of the head a little bit also. Let’s hope the next version would be better.🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

