Not so obvious initials

August 19, 2007 at 9:53 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts | 4 Comments

Can you see the letters on the bookmark?

When I was waiting for my dentist on Friday, I was looking through my craft plan-book and saw the bookmark I was trying to design for a friend a while ago. At that moment, I did successfully make the letter “P” but had trouble making some lacy edges around it due to the uneven shape of the letter. It would be much easier for letters like H, X and so on. When the project came into my sight once again, I decided to compromise (with myself) a little bit on the non-fillet idea. That is, the letters are made with fillet so that the piece can easily be a regular shape.

I don’t do much fillet crocheting, not only because the grid counting is a little boring but also because it is too regular. The double stitches (also the chains) have to be in the same size, otherwise the fillet would look horrible. It’s painful to see those grids in different sizes…..which you can see in this bookmark.😦

Well, it is indeed easier to make the edges around the letters. This pattern should work as a generic initial bookmark. If anyone is interested in the pattern, please leave your comments. I am leaving for a big city tomorrow. I would make the pattern available after I come back if there are any requests.🙂

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 好漂亮的書籤!

  2. I like your newest bookmark I normally do not do much filet work for the end result is stark in appearance, but your nice job on the edges make the bookmark look delicate as well as unique, I would love the pattern when you have time.

  3. I think it turned out great — I can definitely see the initials!

  4. Asking questions are truly pleasant thing if you are not understanding something fully, except this piece of writing offers
    nice understanding even.


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

