Doing nothing but……

August 15, 2007 at 8:48 am | Posted in All My Sketches, Craft - Inspirations, Craft - Websites, Reading | 2 Comments

I have to admit (maybe again) my weird addiction to the back view of animals as well as the normal interests in fat cats. As a result, I cannot help to imitate/copy one of Morry Azamino‘s watercolor paintings with colored pencil.  This cat reminds me of ニャジラ in What’s Michael. There are many things you can think of that s/he is doing, but I would say s/he is waiting for someone “patiently”.😀

Morry Azamino is the illustrator and the author of a Japanese illustration book series Neargo Town, which is about a European city in which cats and humans live together peacefully. It’s said the town is 150 km south to Milan…….I checked Google Maps and found out it’s almost where Genoa is. I didn’t remember seeing any cats in Genoa last year….Maybe there is a hidden city close to Genoa.😀

There are many other Japanese illustrators, especially female ones, using cats as their topics, e.g. Miyuki yoshizawa (CatChips) and Sayo Koizumi. Their works are pretty inspiring for craft projects, for example, when you are making a stuffed cat and dunno how to make the face.😀 Some zakka catalogs would be helpful too.🙂

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, that is an awesome drawing. I am really impressed. Not that I suppose that matters to you, but just saying.

  2. […] also painted my own version of the cat. The touch is pretty naive, but I had a good time doing […]


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

