Striped Tote

May 18, 2007 at 8:58 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - Books | 2 Comments

I am trying to resume blogging a little by typing something bit by bit. Please bear with me if my words make no sense….

We often bring lunch-boxes with us to have our own food at school. It is always a problem find a new plastic bag to take our lunch when the old one is worn as there is no so many plastic bags here in Germany. When the last bag was done, I decided to make my own tote.

Since I receive the book シマシマの本—ボーダー布を使って (ISBN4-579-11102-8) from gnip of WAWAYA, I’ve been obsessed with strip patterns. No wonder it is a good chance to try some out when I happen to have some new striped cotton dish-clothes.

In fact, a regular dish-cloth (50cm x70 cm) is just in the right size I want. Thus, there is no much cutting involved in this project. Since it’s made for practical purpose, I didn’t even bother to iron it to remove the folding marks. As a result, it took me no more than 2 hours to finish the whole thing. That was actually why I dared to do this one day before my presentation for one of my courses.😛

Mr. Y had two different comments on this tote:

  • It’s so feminine that you should bring lunch everyday.
  • The strips and the color may be nice for an underwear.

Anyway, I am still satisfied with how I utilized almost the whole piece. ^^ It looks much better when it’s flat.😉

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like it, very good idea.

  2. […] on an embroidered dishcloth. I happened to have one piece of dishcloth in my stash (leftover from Striped Tote and Quick Pocket). Although the dishcloth is not so well woven,  I finally surrendered to the […]


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

