Woven green

April 8, 2007 at 12:59 pm | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Craft - How-to's | 1 Comment

Last week was a little over-stressed so that I couldn’t sleep last night when the stress was finally gone.😦 I got out of bed and sat in front of my laptop. Staring at the screen, I had no will to surf internet at all. After doodling my idea book for a few min, I decided to make something simpler.

This green ball is made of strips I cut from construction paper. I learned it from a Chinese book for traditional woven toys before. The book includes many popular toys, such as grasshopper I always wanted to have. Ball weaving was introduced as a basic technique. However, the woven ball may have more than one origins. Someone called such a ball “Greek soccer ball“. In addition, the way it’s woven is exactly the same as the way a sepak takraw ball is made. Is it just like movable type systems being invented in different places?😀

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a pretty ball! Hope you can sleep well tonight.


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

