“Good” panda

February 2, 2007 at 10:22 am | Posted in All Finished Crafts, Misc. | 1 Comment

good pandaIt’s been a while since the last time I seriously drew some patterns and picked up a needle to sew. Surely I knew I was not supposed to do this while working on a urgent project I am involved in, but the desire of making this softie is like a small *ugly* worm in my head, eating my programming skills and tempting me with the little panda. At the end, I gave up struggling and spared myself two hours last night after I finished a few trival parts of my project. Now, the panda is done and I can fully concentrate to my programs.🙂

The little panda is actually what I promised to make for a good friend at least two years ago. She was one of my two best friends in high school. When I told her about my crafts, she said she wanted something that can decorate cellphones. I immediately came up with an image of a panda in a Badtz-Maru style. This idea gave both of us a long laugh through the long-distance phonecall, as the bad penguin “XO” was our favorite cartoon while the other girls only like “Hello Kitty”.

Crafts-making become harder when the crafts are for someone you really care. I’ve a bunch of different drawing of pandas, however I didn’t dare to start in a hurry before. During a lecture on this Monday, I suddenly thought of a way making such supercilious eyes: pocket-like eyelids holding small eye-balls of beads. No doubt “implementation” of such an interesting idea got the highest priority among my craft plans in a minute.:-D

I am glad the result matches what was in my mind. Every part is asymmatric: eyes, mouth, limbs and the body so that he can stand in a funny position asking “what’s going on?” It’s only 5cm tall. I hope my friend would like him. I am probably going to make the pattern available next month after I finish all the exams.🙂

BTW: I haven’t come up with a name for him. Any suggestions?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi. I loved this panda and I would love to call him Pandy🙂


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

