Crafters are all around

December 12, 2006 at 10:11 pm | Posted in Craft - Blogs, Craft - Books, Craft - People, Craft - Websites, Misc. | 1 Comment

I was a little surprised this afternoon when I walked into the foyer and saw Rebecca, one of my classmates, sitting there knitting. It has been at least 6 years that I can’t find anyone (geographically) *around* me doing any crafting. I was quite excited as if I found the new continent.

Even though I dont knit, there are still lots of common topics we can talked about other than schoolwork.😀 For example, we talked about the different pattern notion systems in Japan and in the West, as well as Japanese books! She was making the gloves showed above(I dunno why I can’t remember this word at the moment I talked to her-.-) from the book 北欧のニットこものたち(ISBN4529041409), which is about Nordic knitting. Rebecca had the book with her, so I gotta take a look. There are many beautiful patterns in the book. However, those patterns are way too complicated for me, who only knows the basic stitches.

We also found out Shimada Toshiyuki(嶋田俊之), the author of the book, is a guy. I am not so surprised as I knew Hirose Mitsuharu(広瀬光治) was very famous for knitting. I thought Hirose Mitsuharu, namely “knitting prince”, might be very special in Japan. Now, it seems to me knitting is quite common for Japanese guy. ping used to introduce a crafting group of men. They are much more interesting than Hirose Mitsuharu from my point of view. Their blogs gave me a whole afternoon of laughing.😀

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. They are much more interesting than Hirose Mitsuharu from my point of view

    :mrgreen: 同意。
    活力和热情比较重要 :P


Leave a Reply

  • Creative Commons

  • Crafty

  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

